Thursday, February 22, 2018

Escapeful, by Lea Graham



Lea Graham is the author of the forthcoming, From the Hotel Vernon (Salmon
Press, 2019); the chapbook, This End of the World: Notes to Robert Kroetsch (Apt.
9 Press, 2016) and Hough & Helix & Where & Here & You, You, You (No Tell Books,
2011). She is an associate professor at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, NY.

About the poem:

“Escapeful” comes out of my manuscript in-progress, The O. E. D. Odes. The poem
uses the dictionary entry form and explores the word through sound, denotation
and my own connotations. The use of this form was inspired by A. Van Jordan’s
book, M*A*C*N*O*L*I*A, a book about spelling bees and racial injustice. While
“Escapeful” is autobiographical in its yearnings to adventure, Bonnie and Clyde were
serendipitously discovered when I began to research the town I lived in.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Pronounced, by Carlos Andrés Gómez



Carlos Andrés Gómez is a Pushcart Prize nominated poet who is pursuing
his MFA at Warren Wilson College. Winner of the 2015 Lucille Clifton Poetry
Prize, his work has appeared in the North American Review, RATTLE, Beloit
Poetry Journal, and elsewhere. He lives in New York City.

About the poem:

This poem is inspired by my childhood: growing up feeling pulled between languages,
identities, and worlds. And, in particular, this poem’s genesis can be traced back to
a comment from my best friend in fifth grade at a sleepover one night, casually said
while we were brushing our teeth.

Friday, February 16, 2018

If Cowboys Were Cancer Cells, by D. G. Geis



D. G. Geis is the author of Fire Sale (Tupelo Press/Leapfolio) and “Mockumentary”
(Main Street Rag). Among other places, his poetry has appeared in The Irish
Times, Fjords, Skylight 47 (Ireland), A New Ulster Review (N. Ireland), Crannog
Magazine (Ireland), The Moth, (Ireland), The Tishman Review, and Poetry Scotland
(Open Mouse).

About the poem:
This is one of those rare poems that simply appeared. It doesn’t happen very often, but it
occurred to me that life, like writing poetry, is very much like pulling things out of a hat.
I may have an idea where I want to begin, but the poem usually works its way around
me and my idea of what it should be. In that sense poetry is more a form of self-erasure,
a vanishing act.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Love Note, by Keetje Kuipers

Valentine Bokeh Heart Shaped Light Background






Keetje Kuipers is a former Stegner Fellow, Pushcart Prize winner, and the
author of two collections of poetry. Previously a tenured Associate Professor
at Auburn University, she now lives and writes in Seattle, where she teaches
at Hugo House and is an associate editor at Poetry Northwest.


Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Hemming Twice to Show the Strength, by Hannah Craig

2017 Crab Creek Review Poetry Prize winning poem, Hemming Twice to Show the Strength, by Hannah Craig. Selected by Diane Seuss.















Hannah Craig is the author of This History That Just Happened (Parlor Press,
2017) which was the winner of the New Measure Poetry Prize. Her work has
appeared in Fence, Mississippi Review, the North American Review, Prairie Schooner,
Smartish Pace and other publications. She lives in Pittsburgh, PA.

About the poem:
My sisters and I used to play this kind of game when we were young. My grandmother,
who was a seamstress, gave us these huge bridal pattern books and we’d just page
through them, picking our doppelgangers. I guess I always thought it was pretty awful,
as an adult and a feminist, looking back. But when I actually unpacked it a bit, I
ended up seeing things as a little more complex.

Saturday, February 3, 2018

Nocturne with Supermoon & MS Relapse, by Emily Rose Cole



Emily Rose Cole is the author of Love and a Loaded Gun, a persona chapbook from
Minerva Rising Press. She has received awards from Jabberwock Review, Ruminate
Magazine, and the Academy of American Poets, and her poetry has appeared or
is forthcoming in Nimrod, The Pinch, and Southern Indiana Review, among others.

Editors note:  Nocturne with Supermoon & MS Relapse was published in Crab Creek Review in October, 2017, and was reprinted in November 2017 at Flyway , along with another outstanding poem by Emily. Go read it!

Thursday, February 1, 2018

The Cow Disembarks from the Ark, by Dennis Caswell



Dennis Caswell is the author of the poetry collection Phlogiston (Floating
Bridge Press). His work has appeared in Bluestem, Crab Creek Review, Poetry
Northwest, Rattle, and assorted other journals and anthologies. He lives
outside Woodinville, Washington and works as a software engineer in the
aviation industry. Dare to visit denniscaswell.com.


Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Living, by Shevaun Brannigan



Shevaun Brannigan is a graduate of the Bennington Writing Seminars, as
well as The Jiménez-Porter Writers’ House at The University of Maryland.
Her poems have appeared in such journals as Best New Poets, Rhino, Redivider,
and Crab Orchard Review. She is a 2015 recipient of a Barbara Deming
Memorial Fund grant. Her work can be found at shevaunbrannigan.com.

Sunday, January 28, 2018

Self-Portrait as Seven Deadly Sins, by Carol Berg



Carol Berg’s poems are forthcoming or in DMQ Review, Sou’wester, The
Journal, Spillway, Redactions, Radar Poetry, Verse Wisconsin, and in the
anthology Forgotten Women. Her most recent chapbook, The Johnson Girls, is
available from dancing girl press. She was a recipient of a grant from the
Massachusetts Cultural Council.

About the poem:
This poem was inspired by a prompt (thanks Jannie Dresser!) about the seven deadly
sins of Catholic doctrine. I gathered a word bank and used my journal to find images
I liked. I then used the phrase “I travel” to keep a coherence to the poem. The prompt
provided Latin terms and I used the ones that felt most sonic to me. I got positive
feedback from the group so decided to keep the poem.

Friday, January 26, 2018

Benign, and Other Words for This Kind of Reprieve, by Carolee Bennett



Carolee Bennett is an artist and poet living in Upstate New York, where she
has fun saying she has been the “almost” poet laureate of Smitty’s Tavern.
She has an MFA in creative writing (poetry) from Ashland University in
Ohio and works full-time as a writer in social media marketing.

About the poem:
My mom died of colon cancer when she was 56. Often, I’m convinced I have the
disease, too. Although screening procedures are intended to alleviate fear, they’re
burdened by the unavoidable fretting and so many odd humiliations. Expecting bad
news after my first screening, it was somehow more surreal to learn that I was
perfectly healthy.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Golden Torch, by Cynthia Anderson



Cynthia Anderson lives in the Mojave Desert near Joshua Tree National
Park. Her poems have appeared in numerous journals, and she is the author
of seven poetry collections, the most recent being Waking Life. She coedited
the anthology A Bird Black As the Sun: California Poets on Crows & Ravens.
www.cynthiaandersonpoet.com

About the poem:
For over 25 years I lived on California’s Central Coast, where I indulged in my love of
the desert by amassing a large collection of cacti and succulents. The annual bloom
of the golden torch was a much-anticipated event. My husband and I retired to the
Mojave Desert in 2009.

Monday, January 22, 2018

A Conversation with Rheea Mukherjee, author of "Transit for Beginners"

A conversation between Sayantani Dasgupta (author of Fire Girl: Essays on India, America, and the In-Between, Two Sylvias Press) and Rheea Mukherjee (Transit for Beginners, Kitaab International). First published in the 2017 Fall issue of Crab Creek Review.


Rheea Mukherjee 

Sayantani Dasgupta


Saturday, January 20, 2018

The Heroic Penetrates the Quotidian, by Diane Seuss


Today's poem is by Diane Seuss, from her forthcoming collection Still Life with Two Peacocks and a Girl (Graywolf Press, 2018).

Friday, December 8, 2017

2017 Pushcart Nominations!

Crab Creek Review is pleased to announce the 2017 Pushcart Prize nominees:

From 2017 Vol.1:


Shankar Narayan: “To: CEO@Ancestry.com” 
Charnell Peters: “An Uncertain Map of How I Got Raced” 
Jennifer K. Sweeney: “The Pear Trees at Terezin” 

From 2017 Vol. 2:

Carlos Andrés Gómez: “Pronounced” 
Leyna Krow: “The Razor’s Edge” 
Diane Seuss: “Self-Portrait with Emily Dickinson (Rebirth of Mourning)” 

Special Mention to Sanam Mahloudji, whose short story, "Plain White Shoebox" (2017 Vol. 1) was nominated for the PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers. Congratulations, Sanam!

Congratulations to poets Jennifer K. SweeneyCarlos Andrés Gómez, Charnell Peters, Shankar Narayan, Diane Seuss, and writer Leyna Krow. Best of luck to all of the nominees!​

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Hello, Goodbye: Editorial changes at Crab Creek Review

“And all the lives we ever lived and all the lives to be are full of trees
and changing leaves.”  ― Virginia Woolf, To the Lighthouse



Editorial changes are afoot at Crab Creek Review! Martha Silano, poetry editor for the past eight issues of Crab Creek Review, will be stepping down at the end of this year. Martha has been a lightning rod for the collective brilliance and electric talent of the poets we've published the past four years.

Martha Silano & Jenifer Lawrence, 2016
Martha increased the journal's reach and depth, bringing her uniquely contemporary, thought-provoking, socially aware poetics to Crab Creek Review's pages. Her enthusiasm for poetry is infectious and unflagging. Martha has also been the person I turn to for advice and help in all aspects of running this little journal, and I am going to miss her fiercely. As Raymond Chandler put it, “To say goodbye is to die a little.” Martha will not disappear entirely, however. She'll be actively editing through the end of the year, and will then join our Literary Advisory Board, where she'll be available for consultation. Please share your well-wishes for Martha on our facebook page or twitter.





Laura Read



Crab Creek Review is thrilled to announce our new poetry editor, Laura Read of Spokane, WA. Laura is the current poet laureate of Spokane, and the author of the author of Dresses from the Old Country (BOA, 2018), Instructions for My Mother’s Funeral, and The Chewbacca on Hollywood Boulevard Reminds Me of You. Her awards include the AWP Donald Hall Prize for Poetry, and the Floating Bridge Press Chapbook Award. 




Laura teaches and presents regularly at literary festivals and conferences throughout the Northwest, such as GetLit!, Write on the Sound, Litfuse, and the Port Townsend Writers Conference. She's a poet, a teacher, a parent, and an advocate for literature. Laura will be transitioning in to her new role over the next couple of months, and will take over as poetry editor in January 2018.  Please join Crab Creek Review in extending a warm welcome to Laura Read!


Stay tuned for announcements regarding upcoming reading events for the newly released fall issue!

With much gratitude to Martha and Laura, and to you, our readers,

Jenifer Lawrence,